Up close with our executive director, Emily

Emily W. Hamilton, executive director of the Des Moines “I Have a Dream” Foundation, was recently named a finalist for the Juice Magazine “YP of the Year” award. The award honors central Iowans under the age of 35 who have made an impact in their communities.

Emily W. Hamilton. Photo by Eric Rowley, Juice Magazine

Emily was recognized alongside five finalists at a January reception, which helped spread the word about the IHAD mission and the strong leadership and vision moving the organization forward. As a finalist, Emily was profiled in the magazine. She said:

“Because of my background and how my education impacted me, that is why I feel I can make a difference in children’s lives. My life was transformed in college. Grinnell opened a lot of doors and its programs gave me a strong sense of identity and social justice. Education is something I feel very passionate about, and I feel I should pay it forward.”

The article also quoted new IHAD board president Brennan Buckley, who shared these thoughts about Emily:

“Emily is a very unique person. She can look at not only what she has accomplished, which is a lot, but also what she can help accomplish in the future. There is no doubt she’ll have a long, continuous career in helping build this city.”

The Des Moines “I Have a Dream” Foundation is proud to celebrate Emily, her fellow finalists and winner Tiffany Tauscheck!

Check out a few more photos from the 2012 Juice YP of the Year event:

Thanks to Juice photographer Eric Rowley for sharing these!

Tagged , ,

One thought on “Up close with our executive director, Emily

  1. […] Des Moines North High School (coincidentally, only a year ahead of our current Executive Director, Emily), Kristen started college at Buena Vista University and finished college earning a business degree […]

Leave a Reply

